Low Carbon Enterprise

2017-01-05 16:00

To reduce impact on climate change, we have to practice Low Carbon Living. Following Low Carbon Living becoming a hot global issue, HLC corporate social responsibility programmes focus on promoting low carbon business from all staff and customers as well. It is a choice of lifestyle that embraces every aspect of daily life. In 2010 & 2011, H L&C Employment Agency Limited was awarded the Certificate of Merit at the HSBC Living Business Awards in recognition of its commitment to keep environmental green.

Low Carbon life

Low Carbon Living starts from reducing carbon footprint Since its establishment, HLC regularly arranges its staff to attend lectures on environmental protection and promotes low carbon business from every aspect of daily work life. It also encourages and subsidizes its staff to participate activities on promotion of low carbon living organized by BGCA and other non-profitable charity organizations. These includes tree planting, clean the beach, eco-tourism, taking public transportation when travelling and much more. Through internal propaganda and forums, information and guidelines on environmental protection are delivered to all staff. Discussions and activities amongst staff on environmental-protection measures are also encouraged with an aim to promote the following low carbon business in our workplace:

1.When performing office renovation, independent sets of switches and temperature controls are installed in appropriate areas. Whenever a staff member has to leave his/her workplace for a long period of time, he/she can simply switch off the air-conditioner in corresponding area without affecting the other staff. Besides, all air-conditioners and filters are arranged to be washed and cleaned up by registered technicians to ensure they are in good condition.

2.Air travel increases carbon footprint substantially. Since 2007, HLC has adopted online video conference with overseas clients and workers. Jet lag on staff could also be avoided.

3.Since early 90's, HLC has started to use energy-saving laptops to replace traditional desktops, thus saving up to 80% of electricity consumption.

4.It is an era of rapid development in information technology. To promote paperless office culture, staff is encouraged to deliver internal messages or information for their clients by e-mail. All receivers are also friendly reminded not to print out the e-mails unless extremely necessary. If printing is inevitable, double-side printing with smaller fonts and narrower line spacing should be adopted and on recycle paper. This also applies to photo-copying.

5.Collection boxes are placed in workplace to collect re-usable paper. There are also bins for collection of recycle paper with both sides fully used. When the “toner low” signal is on, staff is requested to take out the toner cartridge and slowly rock it end-to-end for a few times and put back into the printer. This will repeat until the tone cartridge is fully used up and the cartridge will then be sent for recycling.

6.When sourcing and purchasing paper and office furniture, producers or suppliers with FSC certification and their FSC-certified products will be considered with first priority.

7.Multi-zone lighting controls are adopted in the office. When a staff has to leave his/her workplace, he/she only needs to turn off the light of his/her area without affecting the others. This will help saving energy. Besides, LED lightings are gradually used to replace traditional florescent lamps.

Low carbon business

The following developments can further illustrate HLC contributions in Low Carbon Business:

Since its establishment in 1991, HLC has put much effort in optimization of its website to provide real-time information on helpers. This enables prospective employers can select their helpers at home comfortably without bordering to travel

In 1995, HLC uploaded in its website recipes which it prepared for publication by Property Times, a magazine published by HKET. Employers can view daily recipes and share with their helpers on monitors without printing out the recipes.

In 1999, HLC addressed the needs of new and existing customers through our uploading the "Handbook for Employers of Domestic Helpers" in its website and is free for navigating by all visitors. The handbook was a joint promotion with Hong Kong Economic Times in 1997 and the publication is currently re-edited to its 5th edition and has been well received in Asia, with approximately 10,000 copies sold.

In 2005, HLC started to send out e-mails and SMS to inform its customers the latest application progress and further in 2011 to follow up periodically the performance of the helpers after their arrivals.

Starting from 2008, HLC, the pioneer in its industry, launched online web interviews for prospective employers to interview with overseas helpers. This eliminates the unsuitability of helpers after their arrivals.

Since 2009, HLC stopped sending hard copies of letter for helpers who have to complete when returning to their country of origin on holiday. Instead, these documents were converted into electronic form and sent to the employers by e-mail.

In 2010, HLC set up its fan page in facebook and invited its helpers in Hong Kong and overseas to join this fan page. Activities organized by HLC and other useful information are announced through this fan page. A staff is also assigned to answers queries from helpers online.

In 2012, HLC distributes and uploads videos in various media formats so that prospective employers can view the self-introduction video of helpers through different platforms including traditional desktops, laptops and mobile phones (both IOS and Android) anytime, anywhere and at their choice.

While promotion of Low Carbon has become a global trend, HLC continues to strive for strategies on reducing its own carbon footprint and would actively invite our customers to join hand-in-hand in combating climate change

Back : Achievement

Previous Post : SME Business Sustainability Index

Next post : Smoke-free Company

Navigation

Gallery

低碳企業

2017-01-05 16:00

要拯救氣候變化,我們必須投入低碳生活。隨著低碳生活成為全球關注的議題,康樂居為實踐企業社會責任,一直倡導低碳生活從員工及客戶個人出發,選擇造成較少二氧化碳的生活模式;並於2010年及2011年獲得匯豐銀行頒發「匯豐營商新動力綠色成就獎」,表揚本公司在低碳領域所作出的貢獻。

低碳生活

自成立以來,本公司定期安排員工出席外界舉辦的環保講座,倡議員工從日常生活 ─ 衣、食、住、行 ─ 探究生活模式,減少碳排放。此外,本公司亦資助並鼓勵員工參與香港小童?益會及其他非牟利社會服務機構舉辦的環保低碳推廣活動,如植樹、清潔海灘、生態遊、出行選乘公共交通工具等。透過內部宣傳及論壇,向員工公佈及更新與公司業務相關的環保資訊及指引,鼓勵員工就環保事宜、措施及活動進行討論,積極推行以下低碳生活之行動:

1. 為辦公室裝修設計時,要求在辦公室不同角落均設有可讓員工自動開關及調較溫度的裝置;當員工長時間離開工作間時,可自行關掉所屬區域的冷氣,避免不必要的能源浪費,但卻不影響其他同事。此外,在踏入夏季時,安排技工清洗或更換隔塵網,期後每隔四星期清洗一次。

2. 乘坐飛機會激增碳的排放。自 2007年開始,公司已採用視像會議,取代乘坐飛機前往外地跟客戶或女傭面見。這樣亦可令員工消除時差的懊惱。

3. 本公司早於90年代選購及採用比桌面電腦少耗80%電量的高能源效益的手提電腦。

4. 在資訊科技迅速發展的年代,本公司亦同步走向「無紙」的領域。無論內部的信息傳遞,或與客戶的聯繫,員工盡量利用電子郵件方式,並呼籲客戶如無必要減少打印郵件,減少用紙。若有確切需要,選用較小的字體及行矩,以雙面打印方式列印。此列印模式亦用於影印文件。

5. 公司在辦公室內設有回收並可再使用的紙張收集箱,以供打印或影印文件。此外亦另設回收箱,鼓勵員工回收雙面已盡用的廢紙。在影印機的「低碳粉」警示燈亮起時,員工會取出碳粉筒輕力搖晃,然後再次放進影印機繼續打印,直至真正用完後送交回收商處理。

6. 採購紙張及辦公室家具時,本公司會優先選擇獲森林管理委員會(FSC)認證的產品。

7. 本公司的辦公室均採用分區照明系統,並鼓勵員工離開工作崗位時,關掉不需要照明的區域,達致節能的效果而不影響其他員工。此外,隨著LED照明燈的普及,本公司已陸續採用,以取代已損壞的傳統照明燈。

康樂居的低碳經濟

從以下的事項可讓我們回顧及印證本公司在低碳經濟的發展歷程 :

自1991年成立至今,康樂居不斷優化公司的網頁,將女傭資料實時上載及更新,令客戶可安坐家中查看女傭資料,減少客戶出行次數,有助減低碳排放,並大大節約時間。

1995年康樂居替經濟日報之置業家居雜誌撰寫「康樂小廚」,並將內容上載至公司網站,為僱主提供各種美食食譜。僱主可隨時隨地點擊給女傭瀏覽學習,不再為女傭不懂烹飪中式美食而煩惱,並減少紙張的印刷。

1999年將與香港經濟日報出版社首次發行完全僱傭手冊套裝「百份百醒目僱主-外傭管理實務指南」錄製成視像,上傳到公司網站,免費讓所有有需要的僱主及女傭查看。

2005年起,康樂居開始採用SMS及Auto Email形式通知僱主其申請進度,並於2011年以相同形式跟進女傭到任後之工作表現,代替傳統的電話通知及家訪,從而避免浪費資源。

2008年起,康樂居率先推出僱主與海外女傭進行視像面試,是香港首家中介公司允許僱主於與女傭簽訂僱傭合約之前可以先“面對面”了解對方。這樣,可降低女傭到港後因不適合該家庭而遭解僱的機率。

2009年起,所有女傭放假回原居地所需文件,康樂居不再以郵遞方式寄往僱主家中,而是轉化成電子文檔經電郵發給有需要的僱主。

2010年,康樂居於facebook平台建立一個以女傭為對象的支持者專頁,邀請所有康樂居在港或海外女傭加入此專頁。透過此支持者專頁發布最新資訊及所有有關女傭的活動,並安排專人在線回答女傭提出的問題。

2012年,隨著電子科技的迅速發展,康樂居曾加了讓僱主可以利用移動電話觀看女傭自我介紹錄像之媒體格式,讓僱主可以於最方便的時間及空間觀看最新女傭之錄像。這樣為客戶帶來了方便的同時亦為康樂居帶來效益,也是進入低碳經濟的必然成果。

正當全球經濟在向低碳轉型,康樂居也在不斷為自己度身定造低碳發展戰略。您使用了康樂居以上的服務了嗎?別覺得這是小事一樁,我們誠意邀請您以實際行動支持低碳。今天的成果是昨天的努力,明天的成果是今天的努力,將來的成果是明天的努力。康樂居僱傭中心將會及始終如一地堅持對低碳的信念,期盼與大家一起全力支持低碳文化,並一直讓這文化伸延下去。

返回 : 本章目錄

上一則 : 企業可持續發展

下一則 : 無煙企業

Navigation



Gallery